

For Immediate Release July 20, 2022

2022 Doak Walker Award Candidates Announced

DALLAS - The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released today the preseason candidates for the 2022 Doak Walker Award. The Forum annually presents the award to the nation's top college running back.

The list features Lew Nichols III from Central Michigan who led the nation in rushing last season. Highlighting the list are 2021 Doak Walker Award semifinalists TreVeyon Henderson of Ohio State, Bijan Robinson of Texas, Sean Tucker of Syracuse and Deuce Vaughn of Kansas State. 2020 semifinalist Mohamed Ibrahim is also featured among the list of preseason candidates.

University athletic departments nominate candidates for the award and can continue to do so through October. The complete list of candidates is below.

Devon Achane (Jr.). Texas A&M Braelon Allen (So.), Wisconsin Rasheen Ali (So.), Marshall Ronald Awaft (Sr.), UTEP Tank Bigsby (Jr.), Auburn Isiaih Bowser (Sr.), UCF British Brooks (Sr.), North Carolina Jarek Broussard (Sr.), Michigan State Antario Brown (So.), Northern Illinois Chase Brown (Jr.), Illinois Jermaine Brown (Jr.), UAB Nate Carter (So.), UCONN Zach Charbonnet (Sr.), UCLA Blake Corum (Jr.), Michigan Travis Dye (Sr.), USC Justice Ellison (So.), Wake Forest Samson Evans (Jr.), Eastern Michigan Deshaun Fenwick (Jr.), Oregon State Alex Fontenot (Sr.), Colorado Pat Garwo (Jr.), Boston College Frank Gore, Jr. (So.), Southern Miss Eric Gray (Sr.), Oklahoma Gerald Green (Jr.), Georgia Southern Tucker Gregg (Sr.), Georgia State Hassan Hall (Sr.), Georgia Tech

Deion Hankins (So.), UTEP TreVeyon Henderson (So.), Ohio State George Holani (Jr.), Boise State Evan Hull (Sr.), Northwestern Mohamed Ibrahim (Sr.), Minnesota Dillon Johnson (Jr.), Mississippi State Roschon Johnson (Sr.), Texas Austin Jones (Sr.), USC Johnnie Lang, Jr. (Sr.), Arkansas State Keyvone Lee (So.), Penn State Joquavious Marks (Jr.), Mississippi State DeWayne McBride (Jr.), UAB Chez Mellusi (Sr.), Wisconsin Kendre Miller (Jr.). TCU Jordan Mims (Sr.), Fresno State Keaton Mitchell (So.), East Carolina Damien Moore (Jr.), Cal Devin Neal (So.), Kansas Lew Nichols, III (So.), Central Michigan Nate Noel (So.), App State Nathaniel Peat (Sr.), Missouri Camerun Peoples (Jr.), App State Dominic Richardson (Jr.), Oklahoma State Johnny Richardson (Jr.), UCF

Bijan Robinson (Jr.), Texas Raheim Sanders (So.), Arkansas Will Shipley (So.), Clemson Shaun Shivers (Sr.), Indiana Jabari Small (Jr.), Tennessee Chris Smith (Jr.), Louisiana Dontae Smith (Jr.), Georgia Tech E.J. Smith (Jr.), Stanford Tyjae Spears (So.), Tulane Titus Swen (Jr.), Wyoming Tavion Thomas (Jr.), Utah Sean Tucker (So.), Syracuse Calvin Tyler, Jr. (Sr.), Utah State Sean Tyler (Jr.), Western Michigan Chris Tyree (Jr.), Notre Dame Xazavian Valladay (Sr.), Arizona State Deuce Vaughn (Jr.), Kansas State Kimani Vidal (So.), Troy Blake Watson (Jr.), Old Dominion Treshaun Ward (So.), Florida State Harrison Waylee (So.), Northern Illinois Jalen White (Jr.), Georgia Southern Jamyest Williams (Sr.), Georgia State Nay'Quan Wright (Jr.), Florida

2022 Doak Walker Candidate Announcement

Page 2

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

The recipient of the 2022 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on *The Home Depot College Football Awards*.

The award is named for SMU's three-time All-America running back Doak Walker. It is the only major collegiate award that requires all candidates to be in good academic standing and on schedule to graduate within one year of other students of the same classification.

<u>###</u>

Honoring the legends of sports for 33 years, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum celebrates outstanding success in athletics. Based in Dallas, the series features major figures from a variety of sports. The PwC SMU Athletic Forum includes four luncheons and the prestigious Doak Walker Award Presentation Banquet.

The Doak Walker Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org and @NCFAA on Twitter to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fourteen of the association's 25 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award's preseason candidates.

Following is the complete 2022 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday July 18: Maxwell Award Tuesday July 19: Davey O'Brien Award Wednesday July 20: Doak Walker Award Thursday July 21: Biletnikoff Award Friday July 22: John Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy Monday July 25: Butkus Award & Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Tuesday July 26: Bronko Nagurski Trophy & Outland Trophy Wednesday July 27: Lou Groza Award & Ray Guy Award Thursday July 28: Paul Hornung Award & Wuerffel Trophy Friday July 29: Walter Camp Award Monday August 1: Bednarik Award

> -doakwalkeraward.com--twitter.com/doakwalkeraward-