BROOKS WALLACE AWARD WATCH LIST HIGHLIGHTS POWER AS WELL AS FIELDING PROWESS

LUBBOCK, Texas – A group of 101 of the most talented shortstops in Division I college baseball headline the initial 2023 Brooks Wallace Award watch list, the College Baseball Foundation announced Tuesday.

"We are seeing some defensive-minded shortstops this year, with many of the kids without an error or very few errors as we sift through the candidates for this year's Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award," said Larry Wallace, co-chair of the award. "Of course, big offensive numbers are again a part of this class as is evident by the power numbers we are seeing."

The award honors the nation's top shortstop and will be presented by the College Baseball Foundation later this year. It is named for former Texas Tech shortstop Brooks Wallace, who played for the Red Raiders from 1977 to 1980. Wallace died of leukemia at the age of 27.

The award honors outstanding defensive play as much as it does production at the plate. One player displaying both of those features is Florida junior and three-year starter Josh Rivera, who leads the watch list with 13 home runs and 46 RBIs while hitting.398 and fielding at a .973 clip. His home run total is tied with Bryce Arnold from Campbell, who is hitting .351 with 40 RBIs and a .941 fielding percentage, and his 46 RBIs are tied with Brice Matthews from Nebraska, who is hitting .396 on the year with 10 home runs and has a .894 fielding percentage.

The 2023 watch list features five players who were semifinalists for the award a year ago, including Jacob Wilson, a potential Top 10 pick in the June Major League Baseball pro draft. The Grand Canyon shortstop is hitting .468 with a pair of home runs and 38 RBIs while compiling a .963 fielding percentage.

Others on the list who were semifinalists a year ago are Kevin Dubrule from Army, Pascanel Ferraras from Western Carolina, Jacob Gonzalez from defending national champion Ole Miss and Griff O'Ferrall from Virginia.

Ty Hill from Jackson State is second behind Wilson in batting average at .429 while three players are near perfect in fielding percentage – Trevor Austin from Mercer (.993), Grant Smith from Kentucky (.992) and Kaster Furr from New Orleans (.992).

"With so many options to watch and keep up with NCAA baseball and the players, we're actually watching some of the best baseball players in many, many years," said Tom Quigley, Brooks Wallace Award co-chair. "Games are now on ESPN and local TV. Shortstop has been redefined and they are hitting with power and high average. Fielding and defense are extremely strong as well. It's going to be tough as we narrow the choices the upcoming rounds."

For more information on the Wallace Award or the Night of Champions event, visit www.collegebaseballhall.org.

2023 BROOKS WALLACE AWARD WATCH LIST

Name	School	Conference	Class
Wehina Aloy	Sacramento State	American	Freshman
Kohl Abrams	UNC-Ashville	Big South	Junior
Bryce Arnold	Campbell	Big South	Junior
Trevor Austin	Mercer	Southern	RS-Senior
Colton Becker	Morehead State	Ohio Valley	Junior
Joey Berini	East Carolina	American	Junior
Ryan Black	UT- Arlington	American	Freshman
Andy Blake	Columbia	Ivy League	Senior
Chase Bloomer	Siu-Edwardsville	Ohio Valley	Freshman
Alex Bouche	Old Dominion	Sun Belt	Freshman
Kolby Branch	Baylor	Big 12	Freshman

Peter Brookshaw North Dakota State Summit Senior Marcus Brown Oklahoma State Bia 12 Junior Zach Budzia **UNC-Greensboro** Southern Junior Ali Camarillo Cal-State Northridge Big West Sophomore Jordan Carrion Florida State ACC Junior Texas Southern **SWAC** CJ Castillo Junior Cam Clayton Washington Pac-12 Sophomore Nolan Clifford Creighton Big East Junior Owen Cobb Stanford Pac-12 Senior Oregon Pac-12 **Drew Cowley** Senior Mario Demera San Francisco West Coast Junior Austin Denlinger Monmouth Colonial Grad Indiana State Missouri Valley Randal Diaz Sophomore **Dustin Dickerson** Southern Miss Sun Belt Junior Kevin Dubrule Army Patriot Senior Conference USA Jack Dragum Charlotte Senior Blake Evans Georgia Southern Sun Belt Senior Pascanel Ferraras Western Carolina Southern Junior Noah Fisher Northern Kentucky Horizon Grad Cole Foster Auburn SEC Junior JJ Freeman Delaware Colonial **RS-Senior** Kaster Furr **New Orleans** Southland Junior Jon Jon Gazdar **Austin Peay** Atlantic Sun Sophomore Phillip Glasser Indiana Big Ten Grad Jacob Gonzalez Ole Miss SEC Junior Nick Goodwin Kansas State Big 12 Junior ACC Clay Grady Virginia Tech Freshman Payton Green North Carolina State ACC Sophomore **Hunter Haas** Texas A&M SEC Junior Luke Heefner **Dallas Baptist** Conference USA Sophomore Troy Hamilton **USC-Upstate** Big South **RS-Junior** Dakota Harris Oklahoma Big 12 Junior Jay Harry Penn State Big Ten Junior Luka Hill Arizona State Pac-12 Sophomore Tv Hill Jackson State **SWAC** Grad **Taylor Hopkins** Mid-American **RS-Junior** Eastern Michigan Jim Jarvus Alabama SEC Senior Cody Jefferis Michigan Grad Big Ten Justin Johnson Wake Forest ACC RS-Junior Mikey Kane Oregon State Pac-12 Sophomore Matt King **UTSA** Conference USA Sophomore Christian Knapczyk Louisville ACC Junior Josh Kuroda-Grauer Rutgers Big Ten Sophomore McNeese State Josh Leslie Southland Senior Alex Lodise North Florida Atlantic Sun Freshman Tracer Lopez Texas Tech Big 12 Freshman Metro Atlantic Noah Lucier Fairfield Grad Chase Mallov Jacksonville Atlantic Sun Senior **Brice Matthews** Nebraska Big Ten Junior Bia South Jacob McCaskev Gardner-Webb Senior Pac-12 Mik McClaughry Arizona Senior Mac McCroskey **Oral Roberts** Summit **RS-Senior** Kyler McIntosh Alabama State **SWAC** Sophomore Micheal McNamara Mid-American Kent State Junior Alex Mooney Duke ACC Sophomore Sam Mongelli Sacred Heart Northeast Senior

Zac Morris Jake Mummau Paul Myro Griff O'Ferrall Brvan Padilla Crew Parke John Peck Dominic Pitelli Davis Powell **Drew Reckart** Sawyer Reeves Jack Renwick Jake Rainess Josh Rivera Nick Rodriguez Kaeber Rog Matt Ruiz Simon Scherry Michael Seegers Matt Shaw Anthony Silva **Grant Smith** Eric Snow John Taylor Adam Tellier Jordan Thompson **Tevin Tucker** Jonathan Vastine Max Viera Jeron Williams Colby Wilkerson Jacob Wilson **Braylen Wimmer** Kade York

VMI Florida Gulf Coast **UNLV** Virginia Connecticut Abilene Christian Pepperdine Miami **Texas State** Western Kentucky The Citadel Wofford Maine Florida Missouri Sate Southern Illinois Georgia State Evansville Iowa Maryland TCU Kentucky South Florida Louisiana **Ball State** LSU West Virginia Vanderbilt Seton Hall Toledo North Carolina **Grand Canyon**

South Carolina

UTRGV

Southern Atlantic Sun Mountain West ACC Big East American West Coast **ACC** Sun Belt Conference USA Southern Southern American East SEC Missouri Valley Missouri Valley Sun Belt Missouri Valley Big Ten Big Ten Big 12 SEC American Sun Belt Mid-American SEC Big 12 SEC Big East Mid-American ACC **WAC** SEC American

Junior Sophomore **RS-Sophomore** Junior Junior Junior Junior Grad Junior Junior **RS-Junior** Junior Sophomore Senior Junior Junior Junior Junior Freshman Senior Freshman Junior Senior Junior **RS-Senior** Sophomore Junior Junior Junior Junior Senior Junior

Grad

Sophomore