

LINK: https://bit.ly/2Wd7aUG

For Immediate Use: Thursday, April 30, 2020

Contact: Melissa Katz, mkatz@themw.com, (719) 488-4052

# MW NAMES 2020 WOMEN'S TENNIS ALL-CONFERENCE TEAM

MW Player of the Year and Co-Freshman of the Year Also Named

**COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo.** – The Mountain West announced the 2020 Women's Tennis All-Conference team and individual honors Thursday, as selected by all 11 league coaches. Alongside 16 singles and eight doubles honorees, Air Force's **TJ Fumagalli** was named MW Player of the Year, while San Diego State's **Cécile Morin** and Wyoming's **Oleksandra Balaba** garnered MW Co-Freshman of the Year.

Fumagalli, a four-time All-MW honoree, marks the first Air Force student-athlete to garner Player of the Year accolades in women's tennis. The senior finished the shortened season with an 11-3 spring clip at the top singles position. All 11 of her dual-match victories came in straight-sets, including wins against Colorado's Monica Malinen, 6-4, 6-4 and Nebraska's Claire Reifeis, 6-2, 6-3. On the doubles court, Fumagalli and partner **Nadeen Lieberman**, an All-MW doubles team, defeated Florida State's Petra Hule and Victoria Allen, then-ranked 15<sup>th</sup> nationally.

Morin finished her freshman season with a 6-4 record in spring play, competing primarily at the No. 4 and No. 5 positions. The France native recorded notable wins over singles players from No. 22 USC, Hawai'i, Cal State Fullerton and Grand Canyon. Balaba posted a 5-5 record competing exclusively at the No. 2 singles spot this season. The Ukraine native also paired with **Maria Oreshkina**, an All-MW doubles team, to go 6-3 in doubles play. The duo mainly competed at the top two spots.

This season's accolades mark the third consecutive All-MW honor for UNLV's **Izumi Asano** and second consecutive for Boise State's **Lilian Poling**, San Diego State's **Nnena Nadozie** and UNLV's **En-Pei Huang**.

# 2020 MOUNTAIN WEST WOMEN'S TENNIS ALL-CONFERENCE TEAM

### Singles:

TJ Fumagalli, Sr., Air Force Joana Baptista, Fr., Boise State Lilian Poling, Sr., Boise State Priscilla Palermo, Jr., Colorado State A.C. Hummel, So., Fresno State Anastasia Luneva, Fr., Nevada Albie Huang, Jr., New Mexico Bronte Murgett, Jr., New Mexico Tamara Arnold, Jr., San Diego State Nnena Nadozie, Jr., San Diego State Alba Pedrero Galindo, So., San José State Izumi Asano, Jr., UNLV En-Pei Huang, Jr., UNLV Hannah Jones, Sr., Utah State Lucy Octave, Sr., Utah State Maria Oreshkina, So., Wyoming

# Doubles:

TJ Fumagalli/Nadeen Lieberman, Air Force Lilian Poling/Holly Stewart, Boise State Emily Luetschwager/Stella Cliffe, Colorado State Sara Kuuttila-Webbert/Myu Kageyama, New Mexico Tamara Arnold/Julia Jordan, San Diego State Izumi Asano/En-Pei Huang, UNLV Hannah Jones/Sidnee Lavatai, Utah State Maria Oreshkina/Oleksandra Balaba, Wyoming

# Player of the Year:

TJ Fumagalli, Sr., Air Force

### Co-Freshman of the Year:

Cécile Morin, San Diego State Oleksandra Balaba, Wyoming



